The Student Council (Allgemeine Studierendenausschuss - AStA)  currently consists of 15 members; six for the Furtwangen campus, five for the Schwenningen campus and four for the Tuttlingen campus. Five of these Student Council members are simultaneously members of the Senate. Of these, two representatives for the Furtwangen campus, two for the Schwenningen campus and one for the Tuttlingen campus. Additionally, the Student Council is represented in a number of committees such as the QM Board - Senate Advisory Committee, the Scholarship Selection Committee (Stipendienwahlausschuss) and the IMZ Committee among others.

The Student Council represents students university-wide on all issues. Each and everyone does their part to ensure that students at the university can complete their studies as successfully as possible and in the most comfortable conditions possible. We try to ensure this at university-level by:

  • Actively contributing to the Study and Examination Regulations (Studien- und Prüfungsordnungen)
  • Participating in statutory bodies
  • Ensuring the quality of teaching from the students‘ point of view
  • Maintaining contact with the rector and the university’s institutions
  • Administration of the 5%-Pools (5% of study fees)
  • Establishing and running leisure activity clubs
  • Offering various advisory services (BAföG, hardship provisions)
  • First semester orientation
  • Cooperation with Faculty Student Councils

All Student Council members are volunteers.

Further Information and Contacts

All information about the Student Council can be found on their website at Please note that unfortunately all information is currently in German only.

The Student Council offices (where you can meet students and the student representatives who can give you the information in English, too!) are located:

Room B0.03
Tel.: +49 7723 920-2301
Fax: +49 7723 920-2298

Room A0.07
Tel.: +49 7720 307-4239
Fax: +497720 307-4239

Room TBC
Tel.: +49 7461 1502-0
Fax: +49 7461 1502-6201