Germany Scholarships awarded to 7 HFU students

(from left): Susanne Hauser and Stefanie Schulz (Marquardt), Annika Windeck, Daniel Werner, Daniel Konegen, Jens Kopper, Maximilian Schwägler, Laura Wundke, Prof. Dr. Edgar Jäger, Marco Gola (Chairman IBAA).

Seven HFU students have been awarded Germany scholarships for the 2016/17 academic year. The Germany scholarship is initiated and funded by the federal government for particularly gifted students. The scholarship award is €300 per month for a period of one year. Half of this amount is provided by the government, the other half is financed through private means organized by the university.

Private sponsors this year are:

  • VEGA Grieshaber KG, Schiltach - 1 scholarship
  • MARQUARDT, Rietheim - 2 scholarships
  • IBAA (International Business Alumni Association) - 2 scholarships
  • Friends of Furtwangen University Funding Association - 2 scholarships

As the Germany scholarship is intended to support especially gifted students, the application requirements are very high: a minimum current average grade or final grade of 1.3. Other selection criteria were a commitment to social causes and other awards, prizes or special achievements, as well as exceptional personal or family circumstances.

The following students were selected from the 49 applicants:

  • Daniel Konegen, Mechanical Engineering and Mechatronics
  • Jens Kopper, International Business Management
  • Evgenia Noll, Sustainable Bioprocess Technology
  • Maximilian Schwägler, Industrial Automation and Mechatronics
  • Daniel Werner, International Business Management
  • Annika Windeck, International Engineering
  • Laura Wundke, Industrial MedTec

At the prizegiving ceremony, Vice President, Prof. Dr. Edgar Jäger praised the impressive CVs of the young scholarship holders and thanked the sponsors who made the award of the scholarships possible.